FR EN

EXHIBITION

27 JAN - 08 APR 2012
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

formes brèves, autres, 25

Curator : Anja Isabel Schneider

images/manifestation/goethe.1.jpg
Ewa Partum Ewa Partum Amélie Dubois Alejandro Cesarco Ján ManČuška Ewa Partum Vue de l'exposition Charles Sandison  
 

Ewa Partum, Aussage Pur – Goethe in Goethe Aktion, Kurfürstendamm und Fasanenstr, Berlin, 1997 © Ewa Partum, ADAGP, Paris, 2011

Digital book, electronic book, or e-book, are all terms designating the new forms given to the book, paperback, printed matter, or the manuscript. The creation and distribution of new reading tools undermine traditional modes of writing and reading which are facing a great challenge today.

To enter a three-dimensional book : this is what Anja Isabel Schneider invites us to do. She sees her exhibition as a reading in itself, subject to interruptions and suspensions generated by the architecture of the space. The selected works examine the relations and interactions between the text and the reader, the condition, the act, and the process of reading which give rise to meaning.

From the formes brèves in the space occupied by Ján Mančuška to Ewa Partum’s conceptual poems, from Amélie Dubois’ sound palimpsest to the taxonomy of words invented by Fabio Kacero, from Anna Barham’s wordplays to Charles Sandison’s ballet of words, these works foreshadow the changes in the reader’s behaviors in the digital age. Inscribed within the spaces of the 49 Nord 6 Est – FRAC Lorraine, this exhibition invites the audience to discern, decipher, construct . . . and imagine!

Anja Isabel Schneider’s project questions the notion of reading in its various modalities of experimentation, experience, and structure. This exhibition explores the question of “fragmentary” or elusive reading—that is, reading which resists and unsettles the reader. Every reader/visitor is thus given an essential role–that of an
active reader. As a secular literary form, the forme brève privileges certain artistic genres: dedication, poem of circumstance, index, news flash, word play, witticism, haiku, fragment, maxim, etc. It solicits the imagination of the reader who is no longer a passive audience but becomes a producer. Between the texts and their readers, the spaces generated by formes brèves–blank or latent spaces–thus become a pause, a reflexive moment, a break for inspiration, an invitation to create. . .

 

MARCO/FRAC LORRAINE AWARD FOR YOUNG CURATORS 2010

The common interest in supporting new generations of professionals who wish to start out into the world of institutional curatorship has inspired this edition of the Award for Young Curators. The jury evaluated 120 proposals on the base of their quality, viability and suitability to the characteristics of the first floor at MARCO and exhibition spaces at Frac Lorraine. Anja Isabel Schneider is the latest recipient of the MARCO/FRAC Lorraine Award. She spent a residency at FRAC Lorraine in Metz in the Summer 2011 in order to adapt her curatorial project to the spaces and the spirit of the place.

Formes brèves, autres, 25 will be presented at MARCO from 1st June to 16th September 2012.

Share
 CALENDAR
 

  JANUARY 2012  

M T W T F S S
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
 NEWS
 

Jusqu’au 15.08.21 → Expositions À plusieurs et Degrés Est : Aurélie de Heinzelin

 

Visite-atelier 6–11 ans le samedi 3 juillet à 15h

 

Réparation visible et collective le jeudi 1er juillet de 18h à 21h

 

Et Maintenant le vendredi 2 juillet de 20h à 23h

FR EN

EXPOSITION

27 JAN - 08 AVR 2012
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

formes brèves, autres, 25

Curatrice : Anja Isabel Schneider

images/manifestation/goethe.1.jpg
Ewa Partum Ewa Partum Amélie Dubois Alejandro Cesarco Ján ManČuška Ewa Partum Vue de l'exposition Charles Sandison  
 

Ewa Partum, Aussage Pur – Goethe in Goethe Aktion, Kurfürstendamm und Fasanenstr, Berlin, 1997 © Ewa Partum, ADAGP, Paris, 2011

Entrer dans un livre en trois dimensions, voici la proposition d’Anja Isabel Schneider qui a considéré son exposition comme une lecture en soi, soumise aux interruptions et suspensions engendrées par l’architecture du lieu. Les œuvres choisies examinent les relations et interactions entre le texte et son lecteur, la condition, l’acte et le processus de lecture, d’où émerge le sens.

De la forme brève dans l’espace de Ján Mančuška aux poèmes conceptuels d’Ewa Partum, du palimpseste sonore d’Amélie Dubois à la taxinomie de mots inventés par Fabio Kacero, des jeux de lettres d’Anna Barham au ballet de mots de Charles Sandison, ces oeuvres prédisent les changements de comportement des lecteurs à l’ère du numérique. Inscrite dans les espaces du 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine, cette exposition invite le spectateur à discerner, à déchiffrer, à construire… et à imaginer !

Le projet d’Anja Isabel Schneider interroge les notions de lecture dans ses différentes modalités d’expérimentations, d’expériences et de structures. Cette exposition explore la question d’une lecture « fragmentaire » ou insaisissable, une lecture qui résiste et perturbe le lecteur. Est alors attribué à chaque liseur/visiteur un rôle essentiel, celui d’être acteur. Forme littéraire séculaire, les formes brèves privilégient certains genres artistiques – dédicace, poème de circonstance, index, brève, jeu de mots, mot d’esprit, haïku, fragment, maxime, etc. – et sollicitent l’imagination créatrice du lecteur. Celui-ci n’est plus seulement
récepteur, mais devient producteur. Entre textes et lecteurs, les espaces générés par les formes brèves – espaces vides ou de latence – deviennent alors une pause, un moment de réflexion, une brèche pour l’inspiration, une invitation à la création…

 

PRIX MARCO / FRAC LORRAINE POUR LES JEUNES COMMISSAIRES D’EXPOSITION, 2010

En choisissant de proposer ensemble ce Prix, le MARCO et le Frac Lorraine souhaitent offrir à de jeunes curateurs l’opportunité de développer un projet d’exposition dans les meilleures conditions professionnelles. Le jury a reçu et évalué 120 propositions en fonction de leur qualité, de leur réalisabilité et de leur adéquation aux spécificités des espaces d’exposition du Frac Lorraine et du MARCO. Anja Isabel Schneider est la nouvelle lauréate du Prix MARCO / Frac Lorraine. Anja Isabel Schneider (née à Reutlingen en Allemagne en 1976) est critique d’art et commissaire indépendante basée à Londres. Elle a résidé au Frac Lorraine à Metz durant l’été 2011 afin d’adapter son projet curatorial aux espaces et à l’esprit du lieu.

formes brèves, autres, 25 sera présentée au MARCO du 1er juin au 16 septembre 2012.

Share
 CALENDRIER
 

  JANVIER 2012  

L M M J V S D
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
 NEWS
 

Exposition / Jusqu’au 21 octobre, au Frac /Martin Beck. Dans un second temps DERNIERS JOURS !

 

La collection en région / Jusqu’au 16 nov, Région Grand Est / Trésors communs Une expo itinérante pour le Musée Mobile-MuMo2 imaginée par les 3 Frac du Grand Est