FR EN

EXHIBITION

24 MAY - 11 NOV 2012
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

Doug Wheeler

-

images/manifestation/3-DougWheeler-web.jpg
3-Doug wheeler 1-Doug wheeler
 

Doug Wheeler, 68 VEN MCASD 11, 1968/2011 Exhibition view from Phenomenal: California Light, Space, Surface, Museum of Contemporary Art, San Diego. Photo: Philipp Scholz Rittermann © 2012 Doug Wheeler

Experience light and indefinite space! Doug Wheeler, a pioneer of the California Light and Space movement¹, proposes three new site-specific spaces of perception, three luminous installations. Since the 1960s, the famous American artist has been unhinging our senses and guiding us to inhabit moments of liminality, instants of suspension in pure light. His spaces appeal not only to the retina but also to the body as a whole, and thus invite us to an approach both initiatory and meditative.

For his first solo exhibition in Europe since 1975, the Californian artist has created two new phosphorescent pieces, in addition to conceiving a new perceptual environment in his famed series of “light walls”. His immersive environments subtly absorb the viewer and provoke a unique experience, which does not engage reason but is addressed directly to the body, through all the senses.

A poet of light, Doug Wheeler creates atmospheres of a rare sensuality. He challenges our perception of depth and volume, even while our bodies, clothed in light, dissolve in the white space that has grown infinite. It is a question then of exploring the very substance of light and of provoking unprecedented sensorial perceptions.

The artist belongs to the Anglo-Saxon tradition of “art as experience”², which consists in enlisting the visitor as an agent in the work through the performative experience. One comprehends the work by means of action; confronted with the unknown, the body sets in motion attitudes forgotten or abandoned by the collective memory. Doug Wheeler’s works incite a democratic desire for “knowledge through the body” which cannot be transmitted through words and which would have to do with or reexamine the aspect of ritual. A rite of passage toward enchantment!

¹ The “Light and Space” movement was created in the mid-1960s on the West Coast of the United States.

² John Dewey (1859–1952) is one of the pillars of “pragmatism”. “Art as Experience” tackles moral and esthetic questions in the spirit of experimentation, which liberates the individual from the intimidating myths that hinder artistic experience.

 

Doug Wheeler / Biography

Born in 1939 in Globe, Arizona (US)
Works in Santa Fe, New Mexico, and Santa Monica, California (US)

Doug Wheeler began his career as a painter in the 1960s while he studied at the Chouinard Institute of Art (today the California Institute of Art) in Los Angeles. In 1965, he conceived a pivotal work in his artistic development, creating a canvas whose frame contains tubes of white neon lights producing subtle variations of light in the canvas. Installed above a white floor, the painting seemed to float. He then moved on to making light encasements, “paintings” composed entirely of Plexiglas and neon light, which were installed in totally featureless white rooms. The artist consequently abandoned object-making completely to work entirely with architectural space and light. In 1969, at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, he created his first environmental installation in a public space, a “light wall”. His work was subsequently presented in numerous exhibitions³, notably: at the Tate Gallery in London and the Schmela Gallery in Dusseldorf in 1970; at the Salvatore Ala Gallery in Milan in 1975; at MoMa PS1 in New York in 1976; at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles in 1986; and in 2000 at the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain. In 2008, he created an environmental installation using ice and neon as part of his design for the exhibition Upside Down—Les Arctiques at the Quai Branly Museum in Paris. He collaborated with the noted French architect Jean de Gastines on the scenography. He inaugurated a solo exhibition, entitled SA MI 75 DZ 12, at the David Zwirner Gallery in New York in January 2012.

³ Larry Bell, Robert Irwin, Doug Wheeler, Tate Gallery, London, 1970; Douglas Wheeler. Licht-Bilder, Schmela Gallery, Dusseldorf, 1970 ; Salvatore Ala Gallery, Milan, 1975; Rooms, MoMa PS1, New York, 1976; Individuals : A Selected History of Contemporary Art, 1945–1986, Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, 1986.

Share
 CALENDAR
 

  MAY 2012  

M T W T F S S
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
 NEWS
 

Exhibitions / Oct 25 2019 – Jan 26, 2020 at Frac /Cécile B. Evans. Amos’ World & Degrés Est : Mock

 

Pour les Kids | Sam 16 Nov, 16h au Frac, gratuit /3/5 ans – Visite à petits pas

 

Wefrac #4 | Sat Nov 16 at Frac, free access /Meetings, surprises & activism

FR EN

EXHIBITION

24 MAI - 11 NOV 2012
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

Doug Wheeler

-

images/manifestation/3-DougWheeler-web.jpg
3-Doug wheeler 1-Doug wheeler
 

Doug Wheeler, 68 VEN MCASD 11, 1968/2011 Vue de l’exposition Phenomenal: California Light, Space, Surface, Musée d’Art Contemporain, San Diego. Photo : Philipp Scholz Rittermann © 2012 Doug Wheeler

Faire l’expérience de la lumière et de l’espace indéfini ! Doug Wheeler, pionnier du mouvement « Light and Space »¹, conçoit in situ trois nouveaux espaces de perception, trois installations lumineuses. Depuis les années 1960, le célèbre artiste américain bouscule nos sens et nous amène à vivre des instants d’entre-deux, des moments de suspension dans une lumière pure. Ses espaces convoquent la rétine mais surtout le corps dans son intégralité, et nous invitent ainsi à une démarche initiatique et méditative.

Pour sa première exposition monographique en Europe depuis 1975, l’artiste californien conçoit deux nouvelles pièces phosphorescentes créées spécialement, et surtout réalise un nouvel environnement perceptuel dans la lignée de ses célèbres « murs de lumière »². Ses environnements immersifs absorbent subtilement le spectateur et provoquent chez lui une expérience unique qui ne fait pas appel à la raison mais s’adresse au corps directement, dans tous ses sens.

Poète de la lumière, Doug Wheeler crée des atmosphères d’une rare sensualité. Il bouscule notre perception de la profondeur et des volumes tandis que nos corps enrobés de lumière se dissolvent dans l’espace blanc devenu sans limite. Il s’agit alors d’explorer la substance même de la lumière et de solliciter des perceptions sensorielles jusqu’alors inédites.

L’artiste s’inscrit dans cette tradition anglo-saxonne de « l’art comme expérience »³ qui consiste à convoquer le visiteur devenu acteur de l’œuvre via l’expérience performative. L’appréhension de l’œuvre se réalise par le biais de l’action ; face à l’inconnu le corps met en branle des comportements oubliés ou laissés de côté par la mémoire collective. Les œuvres de Doug Wheeler incitent dans un désir démocratique à la « connaissance par corps » qui ne passerait pas par les mots et aurait à voir ou à revoir du côté du rituel. Un rite de passage vers un enchantement !

¹ Le mouvement « Light and Space » vit le jour au milieu des années 1960 sur la côte ouest des Etats-Unis.

² « Light wall »

³ John Dewey (1859–1952) est un des piliers du « pragmatisme ». « L’Art comme expérience » aborde les questions morales et esthétiques dans un esprit d’expérimentation qui libère quiconque des mythes intimidants qui font obstacle à l’expérience artistique.

 

Doug Wheeler / Biographie

Né en 1939 à Globe, Arizona (US)
Travaille à Santa Fe, Nouveau Mexique, et Santa Monica, Californie (US)

Doug Wheeler commence sa carrière comme peintre dans les années 1960 alors qu’il étudie à l’Institut Chouinard Art (aujourd’hui l’Institut des Arts de Californie) à Los Angeles. En 1965, il crée une œuvre pivot dans son parcours artistique, réalisant une toile dont le cadre contient des tubes de néon blanc donnant de subtiles variations de lumière à la toile. Installée au dessus d’un sol blanc, la peinture semble flotter. Il conçoit ensuite des tableaux composés entièrement de plexiglas et de néon, ses « light encasements »⁴, installés dans des pièces blanches et épurées. Puis, l’artiste abandonne totalement l’objet pour travailler uniquement sur la dimension architecturale de l’espace et de la lumière. En 1969, au Stedelijk Museum à Amsterdam, il réalise sa première installation, un « mur de lumière ». Par la suite, son travail a été présenté dans de nombreuses expositions⁵, notamment à la Tate Gallery à Londres et à la galerie Schmela de Dusseldorf en 1970 ; à la galerie Salvatore Ala à Milan en 1975 ; au MoMa PS1 à New York en 1976 ; au Musée d’Art Contemporain de Los Angeles en 1986 ; et en 2000 au Musée Guggenheim de Bilbao. En 2008, Doug Wheeler réalise une installation environnementale composée de glace et de néon dans le cadre de sa conception scénographique pour l’exposition Upside Down – Les Arctiques au Musée du Quai Branly à Paris, où il collabore avec le célèbre architecte Jean de Gastines. Il inaugure une exposition personnelle à la Galerie David Zwirner à New York intitulée SA MI 75 DZ NY 12 en janvier 2012.

⁴ « Encaissement lumineux »

⁵ Larry Bell, Robert Irwin, Doug Wheeler, Tate Gallery, Londres, 1970 ; Douglas Wheeler. Licht-Bilder, galerie Schmela, Dusseldorf, 1970 ; Galerie Salvatore Ala à Milan en 1975 ; Rooms, MoMa PS1, New York, 1976 ; Individuals : A Selected History of Contemporary Art, 1945–1986, Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, 1986.

Share
 CALENDRIER
 

  MAI 2012  

L M M J V S D
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
 NEWS
 

Dans les murs | Expositions | 25 Octobre 2019 – 26 Janvier 2020, au Frac, gratuit /Cécile B. Evans. Amos’ World & Degrés Est : Juliette Mock

 

Vernissage | Opening | Eröffnung | Jeu 24 Oct, 19h au Frac, gratuit /Cécile B. Evans. Amos’ World & Degrés Est : Juliette Mock