FR EN

EXHIBITION

02 MAR - 23 JUN 2013
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

Les Immémoriales

Artists: Agnes Denes, Monika Grzymala, Cecilia Vicuña

images/manifestation/Vicuna-1-web.jpg
Vicuña-1 Vicuña-2 Vicuña-2 Grzymala-2 Grzymala-3 Grzymala-4 Denes-1 Denes-2  
 

Cecilia Vicuña, Quipu Austral, 2012/2013 Installation, sound. Exhibition view Les immémoriales, Frac Lorraine. Photo : Eric Chenal © The artist

Nourished by the living memory of Andean, Native American, and Australian Aboriginal people, Agnes Denes, Monika Grzymala and Cecilia Vicuña, three artists of different generations and horizons invite you on a sensuous and poetic journey into the heart of political issues affecting our first-world societies.
-
« We are now pushing the earth to a very dangerous unsustainability, so it is time for us to hear the ancient voices in a new way. »
Cecilia Vicuña

Environmental movements, which emerged in the 1960s (1) in response to the excesses of the consumer society and sprawling industrialization, have fundamentally transformed our relation to the world. They have managed to imprint in our consciousness the idea that human beings are responsible for the general degradation of the planet: the depletion of natural resources, the drying up of water supplies, exploitation of ancestral lands, disappearance of indigenous populations… Millennial oral traditions are becoming extinct, and, along with them, entire segments of human culture and history pass into oblivion.

To refuse oblivion and disappearance in order to reinvent being-in-the-world based on equality, respect, and freedom: this desire captures well the ambition of Agnes Denes, Monika Grzymala, and Cecilia Vicuña. These three artists share an ethical and aesthetical consciousness which guides their approach to the world and to others. Their art is the ephemeral, the passage, and the transmission, inhabited by the living memory of peoples and territories which the artists interweave with the present and which they use to construct the future (2).

In 1968, Agnes Denes (born 1931, Hungary), made her first “eco-logical” intervention in the state of New York, announcing her commitment to environmental questions and human issues. In 1977, near the Niagara Falls, she re-enacted the ritual Rice/Tree/Burial an “allegory of the life cycle” which associates the planting of a rice paddy; chaining together of trees in a sacred forest, formerly an Indian burial ground; filming from the edge of the Niagara Falls; and burying a time capsule addressed to “Homo Futurus” of the year 2979.

Since the 1960s, the poet and artist Cecilia Vicuña (born 1948, Chili) has been creating installations that summon the spirits of the first inhabitants of the Andes. She literally and figuratively weaves together the past and the present. Her Quipus are inspired by a form of “writing” used by Indian tribes, made up of knotted cords, which was banned by the Spanish conquerors. The long, colored cotton cords which make up the immersive installation Quipu Austral (2012–13) are a shimmering, tactile ode to the
communion between man and the cosmos.

Monika Grzymala’s (born 1970, Poland) ephemeral architectural interventions are engendered by physical and imagined lines, made from everyday, fragile materials, such as hand-made paper, scotch tape, magnetic tape…). The artist created The River in 2012 in collaboration with Euraba Papermakers, an art collective of Australian Aboriginal women who use offcuts from the clothing industry established on their ancestral grounds. Water, indispensable in the manufacture of paper, is at the heart of the Goomeroi culture. The River floods the space of the exhibition with thousands of suspended white paper leaves——a river of tears evoking lost spirits.

Following the stream of water in order to grasp the thread of life, this exhibition renews the vital connection between the human and the Earth.

1— Silent Spring by Rachel Louise Carson appeared in 1962. This book was a bestseller which popularized the term “ecology” in the United States.
2— Dedicated to “the Maori people of the forgotten time,” Les Immémoriaux, an ethnographico-poetic novel by Victor Segalen (1878–1919) opens with a memory blank. What might have been but an anecdotal instance of forgetfulness in the recitation of a long litany of ancestors comes to foreshadow the disappearance of a people, forgetful of its own lore and its own customs—of its own past.

—————————————————————————————————————-
With thanks to Bergère de France (Bar-le-Duc) for their assistance in technical production of Cecilia Vicuña’s work.
—————————————————————————————————————-

 

www.paris-art.com

Share
 CALENDAR
 

  MARCH 2013  

M T W T F S S
25 26 27 28 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
 NEWS
 

Exhibition /Until Jan 28, 18 /Human Resources Curator: Virginie Jourdain.

 

Restitution de résidence / Until Jan 28, 18, at Frac, free admission / Lorraine family albums Ysé Tran, filmmaker

 

Grand Est Project / Until Jan 28, 18 / Orée du jour Julie C. Fortier, artist

 

Exhibition / 12 Dec – 07 March, Groupe SOS santé – Hôpital de St-Avold / La Face cachée de la Terre Opening: 12 Dec, 4pm.

 

Exposition / Jusqu’au 08 Jan 18, La Grande Place, Musée du Cristal, St-Louis-lès-bitche / Arweider Avec Anne Delrez, Julie Luzoir

 

Special Kids / Dimanche 14 Jan à 15h, au Frac, gratuit sans réservation / Au travail ! – l’atelier du dimanche

FR EN

EXHIBITION

02 MAR - 23 JUI 2013
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

Les Immémoriales

Artistes : Agnes Denes, Monika Grzymala, Cecilia Vicuña

images/manifestation/Vicuna-1-web.jpg
Vicuña-1 Vicuña-2 Vicuña-2 Grzymala-2 Grzymala-3 Grzymala-4 Denes-1 Denes-2  
 

Cecilia Vicuña, Quipu Austral, 2012/2013. Installation, son. Vue de l’exposition Les Immémoriales, Frac Lorraine. Photo : Eric Chenal © L’artiste

Nourries de la mémoire vive des peuples andins, amérindiens et aborigènes d’Australie, trois artistes de générations et d’horizons différents, Agnes Denes, Monika Grzymala et Cecilia Vicuña, proposent un voyage sensoriel et poétique au cœur des préoccupations politiques qui animent nos sociétés du Premier monde.

« Nous exploitons la Terre à la limite de ses capacités. Il est temps pour nous de prêter une oreille neuve au­­x voix des Anciens »
Cecilia Vicuña

Apparus dans les années 1960 (1) pour dénoncer les excès de la société de consommation et de l’industrialisation à outrance, les mouvements écologistes ont modifié en profondeur notre rapport au monde. Ils ont réussi à imposer dans les consciences l’idée que l’être humain est responsable d’une dégradation générale de la planète : les ressources naturelles sont pillées, les sources d’eau se tarissent, les terres ancestrales sont exploitées, les populations autochtones disparaissent… Des traditions orales millénaires s’éteignent, et avec elles, un pan de la culture et de l’histoire humaine sombre dans l’oubli.

Refuser l’oubli et la disparition pour réinventer un être-au-monde basé sur l’égalité, le respect et la liberté… Telle pourrait être l’ambition d’ Agnes Denes, Monika Grzymala et Cecilia Vicuña. Ces trois artistes ont en commun une conscience éthique et esthétique qui guide leur rapport au monde et aux autres. Leur art est éphémère, passage et transmission, habité par la mémoire à vif de peuples et de territoires avec laquelle elles tissent le présent et construisent le futur (2).

En 1968, Agnes Denes (1931, Hongrie) réalisait sa première intervention « éco-logique » dans l’état de New York annonçant ainsi son engagement dans les questions environnementales et les préoccupations humaines. En 1977, elle performait de nouveau le rituel Rice/Tree/Burial près des chutes du Niagara, une « allégorie du cycle de vie » associant plantation d’une rizière, enchaînement d’arbres dans une forêt sacrée jadis cimetière indien, tournage d’un film depuis les chutes et enfouissement d’une capsule témoin adressée au « Homo Futurus » de 2979.

Poète et artiste, Cecilia Vicuña (1948, Chili) crée depuis les années 1960 des installations qui convoquent l’esprit des premiers habitants des Andes. Elle y tisse ensemble le passé et le présent, au sens propre comme au figuré. Ses Quipus s’inspirent du système d’« écriture » des tribus indiennes (des bandes de tissus noués) bannis par la conquête espagnole. Les longues bandes de laine colorées qui animent l’installation immersive Quipu Austral (2012–13) composent une ode chatoyante et tactile à la communion de l’Homme et du cosmos.

Les interventions architecturales éphémères de Monika Grzymala (1970, Pologne) naissent de lignes physiques et mentales et de matériaux communs et fragiles (papier fait main, scotch, bandes magnétiques…). Elle a réalisé The River en 2012 en collaboration avec Euraba Paper Makers, un collectif de femmes aborigènes d’Australie fabricant du papier artisanal à partir des résidus de l’industrie du coton implantée sur leurs terres ancestrales. L’eau, indispensable à la fabrication du papier, est au cœur de la culture du peuple Goomeroi. The River inonde l’espace d’exposition de milliers de feuilles en papier blanc suspendues, rivière de larmes évoquant les esprits perdus.

Tissant le fil de l’eau pour retrouver le fil de la vie, cette exposition renoue le lien vital unissant l’homme à la Terre.

1— Printemps silencieux de Rachel Louise Carson paraît en 1962. Ce livre est un succès éditorial qui popularise le terme « écologie » aux États-Unis
2— Dédié « aux Maoris des temps oubliés », Les Immémoriaux, le roman ethnographico-poétique de Victor Segalen (1878–1919), commence par un trou de mémoire. Ce qui pourrait n’être qu’un oubli anecdotique dans la longue litanie récitée des ancêtres devient le présage de la disparition d’un peuple, oublieux de son savoir et de ses coutumes, de son propre passé

—————————————————————————————————————-
Nous remercions Bergère de France (Bar-le-Duc) pour leur participation à la production technique de l’œuvre de Cecilia Vicuña.
—————————————————————————————————————-
 

www.paris-art.com

 

Share
 CALENDRIER
 

  MARS 2013  

L M M J V S D
25 26 27 28 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
 NEWS
 

Exposition / 09 Nov 2018 – 10 Fév 2019, au Frac, gratuit /Fabriques de contre-savoirs

 

Visite guidée inédite de l’expo Fabriques de contre-savoirs / Mercredi 09 Jan à 19h au Frac, Gratuit / Regards croisés avec les 3 directrices des Frac du Grand Est

 

Théâtre documentaire / Jeudi 22 Jan à 20h, Théâtre des Trinitaires, Metz, Payant sur réservation / Longueur d’ondes, histoire d’une radio libre avec Bérangère Vantusso, mise en scène ; Paul Cox, mise en images ; Hugues De la Salle et Marie-France Roland, comédiens

 

Atelier / 26 et 27 janvier de 10h à 18h au Frac, gratuit sur réservation / L’école du dehors : 2 jours d’échange et de réflexion sur les pratiques écologiques, avec l’artiste Marie Preston