FR EN

EXHIBITION

11 JUN - 21 SEP 2014
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

David Lamelas

ON THE MOON
-
Opening: Friday 13 june at 7pm
in presence of the artist

images/manifestation/Lamelas-web.jpg
DL-elgrito DL-GENTE DL-Gente-FRAC  
 

David Lamelas, El grito, 1962 © The artist

FRAC Lorraine presents the first in France retrospective of David Lamelas Argentinian, born in 1946), featuring over twenty major pieces from 1960–70, including some previously never exhibited as well as some recent works.
-

A flashback on David Lamelas with a monographic exhibition devoted to this pioneer of conceptual art and experimental cinema. Sculpting time and space, his language summons absence, awaiting, and atmosphere … in order to better understand the instant!
What if time were nothing but a fiction? Time passes, time lasts, time stops, time is an activity. Observing it, giving it material presence—this is what David Lamelas’ experiment has been about since the 1960s. He is one of the first artists to introduce perception of real-time temporality into exhibition. A chronic traveler, he works through his own itinerary, which he shows in a context, in space and time.

Greatly impressed since childhood by Velasquez’s Las Meninas, David Lamelas has developed a sculptural approach to media at the School of Fine Arts in Buenos Aires by using light and its dematerializing effects. Selected to represent Argentina at the Venice Biennale in 1968, he subsequently settled in London. Frequently traveling and often working in Paris, Anvers, Brussels, and Milan, he frequented the young European conceptual milieu as well as established authors. In that context, he developed disjunctive, experimental cinema. David Lamelas captures, registers and diffuses the instant—the smallest constitutive element of Time. These are all ways of gaining access to the real, elusive. After a few “Hollywood” films and a long stay in Los Angeles, he has returned to forms closer to the preoccupations of visual arts.

Placing the viewer at the center of his work, David Lamelas leaves a trail of clues for the viewer to follow in his or her own way … within a necessarily distended temporality!

 

—————————————————

www.paris-art.com

 

Share
 CALENDAR
 

  JUNE 2014  

M T W T F S S
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
 NEWS
 
 

26 Septembre, 20h30 → Léonie Pernet | Concert (Electro-pop, France)

 

27 Septembre, 16h30 → Festival du film subversif | Projections

FR EN

EXHIBITION

11 JUI - 21 SEP 2014
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

David Lamelas

ON THE MOON
-
Vernissage : ven. 13 juin à 19h
en présence de l’artiste

images/manifestation/Lamelas-web.jpg
DL-elgrito DL-GENTE DL-Gente-FRAC  
 

David Lamelas, El grito, 1962 © l’artiste

Le Frac Lorraine propose la première rétrospective en France de David Lamelas (argentin né en 1946) avec une vingtaine de pièces majeures des années 1960–70, dont certaines inédites, ainsi que des travaux plus récents.
-
Flash back sur David Lamelas avec une exposition solo dédiée à ce pionnier de l’art conceptuel et du cinéma expérimental. Sculpteur d’espace et de temps, son langage convoque l’absence, l’attente, l’atmosphère… pour mieux appréhender l’instant !
Et si le temps n’était qu’une fiction ? Le temps passe, le temps dure, le temps s’arrête, le temps est une activité. Le percevoir, lui donner une matérialité, voilà ce que ne cesse d’expérimenter David Lamelas depuis les années 1960. Il est l’un des premiers à introduire la perception d’une temporalité réelle dans l’exposition. Voyageur chronique, son travail devient celui de son propre agenda, celui qu’il donne à voir dans un contexte, un espace-temps.
­
Impressionné dès l’enfance par Les Ménines de Vélasquez, David Lamelas développe une approche sculpturale des médias au sein de l’École d’art de Buenos Aires en utilisant la lumière et ses effets de dématérialisation. Choisi pour représenter l’Argentine à la Biennale de Venise de 1968, il s’installe ensuite à Londres. Voyageant et travaillant souvent à Paris, Anvers, Bruxelles, et Milan, il fréquente la jeune scène conceptuelle européenne ainsi que les auteurs affirmés. Il y développe alors un cinéma expérimental et disjonctif. David Lamelas capte, enregistre et diffuse l’instant, le plus petit élément constitutif du Temps. Tous sont des moyens ­d’accéder au réel, insaisissable. Après quelques films « hollywoodiens » et une longue escapade à Los Angeles, il revient à des formes plus proches des préoccupations des arts visuels.

Plaçant au centre de ses préoccupations le spectateur, David Lamelas lui laisse des indices afin que ce dernier produise son propre parcours… dans une temporalité nécessairement distendue !

 

David Lamelas (2014) publiée par Frac Lorraine sur Vimeo.

—————————————————

www.paris-art.com

 

Share
 CALENDRIER
 

  JUIN 2014  

L M M J V S D
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
 NEWS
 

#covid-19 | Fermeture exceptionnelle du Frac Lorraine /du 13.03 au 06.04

 

Expositions | Exhibitions | Ausstellungen | Jusqu’au 10 Mai 20 /The Making of Husbands. Christina Ramberg en Dialogue & Degrés Est : Emma Perrochon