FR EN

DISCOVER

30 JAN - 03 MAY 2015
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

SYNESTHESIA … OR SENSORY TRANSLATION OF THE WORLD

images/manifestation/roelens-web.jpg
Roelens JOSEPH GRIGELY Geffriaud centre de doc
 

Jean-Christophe Roelens, Prométhée ou le Poème du feu, 2013

We perceive the world around us thanks to our senses. Our brain intercepts a great part of this flood of information in order to keep us from being overwhelmed. Images, sounds, smells, and tastes transmitted by our sensory organs activate neurons in very specific regions of the brain. In the case of synesthetes, the distribution of information occurs differently. Several regions are being solicited at the same time, which enables unusual associations of senses: this is referred to as sensory multimodality. As a result, some people can see sounds, taste the texture of objects, process letters and numbers as colors, or perceive time visually in three dimensions.
Have you experienced something similar?
Stop searching, you must be a synesthete!
These singular perceptions may be a vehicle for creativity. The artistic community probably brings together the greatest number of synesthetes.

They include composers such as Duke Ellington, Syd Barrett, Alexander Scriabin, Oliver Messiaen, Franz Liszt; painters such as Joan Mitchell, David Hockney, Vassily Kandinsky; writers such as Vladimir Nabokov or Daniel Tammet. Some poets, like Arthur Rimbaud or Charles Baudelaire, although not affected by synesthesia, drew on it as a source of inspiration. This is also the case of artists featured here today … in an exhibition full of color.

Selection of Editions and books

MERIS ANGIOLETTI
Série Eaux claires et montagnes violettes, 2014
[Limpid Waters and Purple Mountains Series]
Drawing his inspiration from cognitive sciences, psychology, and esoteric beliefs, Meris Angioletti examines the workings of perception, memory, and the psyche. Influenced by research in iconography, the artworks in this series project images or colors that interconnect in the mind of the viewer to produce “inner visions.”

MARK GEFFRIAUD
Roche, 2008
This work of art is based on Compact (1966), the début novel by Maurice Roche, consisting in a narrative for seven voices, each identified by a different font color. M. Geffriaud created a mechanism to separate each of these voices by means of monochrome slides. Thanks to chromatic homonymy, the slides efface certain fragments of the text when projected onto the pages of the book.

JOSEPH GRIGELY
Blueberry Surprise, 2006
Deaf since the age of ten, Joseph Grigely primarily focuses on the art of conversation, and explores questions concerning communication and language. Blueberry Surprise consists in a continuous text of 45 000 words written down for the artist by his interlocutors. Each change in color (red, orange, and black) signifies the passage towards a “new,” always unknown, voice.

ALISON TURNBULL
Spring Snow – A Translation, 2002
This color essay by Alison Turnbull is based on Spring Snow, the first novel by Yukio Mishima (1925–1970). It is a visual translation of the multiple evocations of color in the Japanese writer’s book. Working from the English translation, A. Turbnull isolated the six hundred colors in the order they appear in the text.

JEAN-CHRISTOPHE ROELENS
Prométhée ou le Poème du feu, 2013
Prometheus or the Poem of Fire has its source in Opus 60 (1908–10) by the composer and synesthete Alexander Scriabin. This composition, written for symphony orchestra, piano, and mixed choir, includes a light score, known as “Luce,” for color organ which accompanies the music with colored projections. Scriabin envisioned a system of correlations between sounds and colors based on his own experience of hearing colors. J.-C. Roelens proposes a color transcription of the work by keeping in mind the composer’s vision of the correspondences between notes and colors.

Share
 CALENDAR
 

  JANUARY 2015  

M T W T F S S
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
 NEWS
 
 
 

4 Nov., 18h → Réparation visible et collective | Performance participative avec Clara Denidet

FR EN

À DÉCOUVRIR

30 JAN - 03 MAI 2015
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

La synesthésie ou la traduction sensitive du monde

images/manifestation/roelens-web.jpg
Roelens JOSEPH GRIGELY Geffriaud centre de doc
 

Jean-Christophe Roelens, Prométhée ou le Poème du feu, 2013

C’est grâce à nos sens que nous percevons le monde qui nous entoure. Afin de nous empêcher d’être submergé par cette masse d’informations, notre cerveau en intercepte la majeure partie. Les images, sons, odeurs, goûts transmis par nos organes sensoriels activent des neurones dans des zones cérébrales bien précises. Chez les synesthètes, la distribution de ces informations se fait différemment. Plusieurs zones sont sollicitées en même temps, ce qui permet des associations de sens inhabituelles: on parle de multimodalité sensorielle. Ainsi, certaines personnes voient les sons, goûtent la texture des objets, pensent les lettres et les chiffres en couleurs ou encore perçoivent le temps visuellement en trois dimensions.

Vous vivez des expériences similaires ?
Ne cherchez plus, vous êtes synesthète !

Ces perceptions singulières peuvent être moteur de création. La communauté des artistes est probablement celle qui rassemble le plus de synesthètes.
Parmi eux les compositeurs Duke Ellington, Syd Barrett, Alexandre Scriabine, Oliver Messiaen, Franz Liszt ; les peintres Joan Mitchell, David Hockney, Wassily Kandinsky; les écrivains Vladimir Nabokov ou Daniel Tammet.

Certains poètes comme Arthur Rimbaud ou Charles Baudelaire n’étaient pas atteints de synesthésie mais y ont trouvé une source d’inspiration. C‘est aussi le cas des artistes présentés au Frac… pour une proposition haute en couleurs !

choix d’éditions et de textes

MERIS ANGIOLETTI
Série Eaux claires et montagnes violettes, 2014
Puisant son inspiration dans les sciences cognitives, la psychologie ou les croyances ésotériques, Meris Angioletti interroge les mécanismes de la perception, de la mémoire et de la psyché. Empreintes d’une recherche iconographique, les œuvres de cette série projettent dans l’espace mental du spectateur des images ou des couleurs qui favorisent des « visions intérieures » issues de connexions croisées.

MARK GEFFRIAUD
Roche, 2008
L’œuvre se base sur Compact (1966), premier roman de l’auteur Maurice Roche. Celui-ci consiste en un récit à sept voix, chacune étant identifiée par une couleur. M. Geffriaud met ici en place un dispositif permettant la dissociation de ces voix grâce à l’utilisation de diapositives monochromes. Projetées sur des pages du livre, les diapositives effacent par homonymie chromatique certains passages du texte.

JOSEPH GRIGELY
Blueberry Surprise, 2006
Sourd depuis l’âge de dix ans, Joseph Grigely se concentre essentiellement sur l’art de la conversation en explorant des questions relatives à la communication et au langage. Blueberry Surprise est composé d’un texte continu de 45 000 mots, autant de mots écrits à l’artiste par ses interlocuteurs. Chaque changement de couleur (rouge, orange et noir) signifie le passage vers une « nouvelle voix », toujours inconnue…

ALISON TURNBULL
Spring Snow – A Translation, 2002
Cet essai coloré d’Alison Turnbull est basé sur Spring Snow, premier roman de Yukio Mishima (1925–1970). Il consiste en une traduction visuelle des multiples évocations de la couleur présentes dans le roman de l’écrivain japonais. En travaillant sur l’édition anglaise, A. Turnbull a isolé et ordonné chacune des six-cents couleurs telles qu’elles apparaissent dans le texte.

JEAN-CHRISTOPHE ROELENS
Prométhée ou le Poème du feu, 2013
Cette édition a été réalisée d’après l’_opus 60_ (1908–10) du compositeur synesthète Alexandre Scriabine. Cette partition, écrite pour grand orchestre, piano et choeur mixte, présente la particularité d’une portée nommée « Luce » pour clavier à lumière proposant un accompagnement de projections colorées. Il s’agit ainsi du premier son et lumière. Scriabine avait imaginé un schéma des rapports entre sons et couleurs obéissant à ses expériences synesthésiques. J.-C. Roelens propose ici une écriture colorée de l’œuvre en tentant d’être fidèle à la vision des correspondances notes/couleurs du compositeur.

Share
 CALENDRIER
 

  JANVIER 2015  

L M M J V S D
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
 NEWS
 

#covid19 → Fermeture exceptionnelle du 49 Nord 6 Est | Dès le 30.10

 

Expositions | Exhibitions | Ausstellungen → Céline Condorelli : Deux ans de vacances Degrés Est : Thomas Schmahl