FR EN

EXHIBITION

24 JUN - 23 OCT 2016
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

Sensitive Zones

Does a map make the world ?

Opening: Thursday, June 23 at 7PM

images/manifestation/MAP_11web.png
Emma Dajska, MAP, 2010 © Emma Dajska Zones Sensibles Zones Sensibles Zones Sensibles Zones Sensibles
 

Emma Dajska, MAP, 2010 © Emma Dajska

In an age when geo-location, interactive maps, or just a simple click can transport you across space, what has happened to our cartographic sensibility? 49 Nord 6 Est covers up the tracks and takes you on a springtime walk … of the mind. Against the grain of every cartographic grammar, the 19 featured artists make a point of deconstructing the Western mappa mundi, and invite you to step into an imagined or forgotten elsewhere. Bringing together over thirty works (belonging mainly to the 49 Nord 6 Est collection), these “sensitive zones” are deconstructed (M. Vatamanu & F. Tudor), decentered (K. Ströbel), recited (B. Heidsieck), reordered (K. Pieroth), and renamed (D. Renaud), tactile (J. Kaeppelin, J. Discrit), epidermic (J. Blau), and imaginary (Y. Ono), in order to remind us that any cartographic representation is but a subjective projection in the form of an image, likely to disperse in a cloud of dust (N. Oranniwesna)…

From the very heart of a fragmented regional territory comes the following proposition: the first attempt at charting a new, expanded horizon. Since there is no C(h)ART without a TRAC(e), why not imagine an aroma of GRAND EST and get on the scent? An olfactory entity tied to, and designed for, the inhabitants: this is what the artist-in-residence, Julie Fortier, is going to try to achieve in partnership with the Centre International d’Art Verrier (International Center for Glass Art) in Meisenthal.

Brought into perspective by the cartographer’s dream (Philippe Rekacewicz), the exhibition will be complemented by urban strolls to discover gendered spaces or islands of solidarity. Screenings, meetings, and workshops will offer the public opportunities to engage in sensible, collective explorations of space.

Artists: Justine Blau, Emma Dajska, Julien Discrit, Marco Godinho, Bernard Heidsieck, Joséphine Kaeppelin, Charles Lopez, Yoko Ono, Nipan Oranniwesna, Cornelia Parker, Kirsten Pieroth, Elodie Pong, Angels Ribé, David Renaud, Franck Scurti, Katrin Ströbel, Mona Vatamanu and Florin Tudor.

Let us trace together Marco Godinho’s Rediscovered Horizon across France! From Bitche (Médiathèque), to Vence (Association De Hors), to Privas (Galerie du Théâtre), passing through Nice (MAMAC), follow the line of horizon and accompany it on its way to Metz!
For more information, visit: www.fraclorraine.org

Discover the exhibition Zones Sensibles from Frac Lorraine on Vimeo.

Share
 CALENDAR
 

  JUNE 2016  

M T W T F S S
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
 NEWS
 

Exhibition / March 01 – June 02, 2019 at Frac /Présences Voyageuses /Degrés Est : Silvi Simon Openings / February 28th / 7pm

 

Hors les murs / Vernissage – 23 Mars 2019 au Château Stanislas, Epinal /Les racines du ciel

 

Événement / 23 & 24 Mars 2019 /Parcours d’artistes avec Alix Desaubliaux

FR EN

EXHIBITION

24 JUI - 23 OCT 2016
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

Zones Sensibles

La carte fait-elle le monde ?

Vernissage le Jeudi 23 Juin à 19h

images/manifestation/MAP_11web.png
Emma Dajska, MAP, 2010 © Emma Dajska Zones Sensibles Zones Sensibles Zones Sensibles Zones Sensibles
 

Emma Dajska, MAP, 2010 © Emma Dajska

À l’heure où la géolocalisation, les « maps » interactives ou même un simple clic nous projette dans l’espace, qu’en est-il advenu de notre sensibilité aux cartes ?

Le 49 Nord 6 Est brouille les pistes et propose une déambulation estivale… mentale. À rebours de toute grammaire cartographique, les 19 artistes présentés se font fort de déconstruire la « mappa mundi » occidentale et nous invitent à poser les pieds dans un ailleurs, fantasmé ou oublié. Réunissant une trentaine d’oeuvres (majoritairement issues de la collection du 49 Nord 6 Est), ces « zones sensibles » déconstruites (M.Vatamanu & F.Tudor, M.Godinho), décentrées (K.Ströbel), déclamées (B.Heidsieck), réagencées (K.Pieroth), renommées (D.Renaud), tactiles (J.Kaeppelin, J.Discrit), épidermiques (J.Blau), imaginaires (Y.Ono), viendront nous rappeler que toute représentation cartographique n’est qu’une projection subjective mise en images, susceptible de voler en poussière (N.Oranniwesna).

C’est aujourd’hui depuis le coeur d’un territoire régional redécoupé que se dessine cette proposition : premier essai de cartographie d’un nouvel horizon élargi ? Puisqu’il n’y a pas de CARTE sans TRAC(e), pourquoi ne pas imaginer une senteur GRAND EST pour nous mettre au parfum ? Une entité olfactive en lien et pour ses habitants…c’est ce que tente d’élaborer l’artiste en résidence Julie Fortier en partenariat avec le Centre International d’Art Verrier de Meisenthal.

Mise en perspective avec le rêve du cartographe (Philippe Rekacewicz), l’exposition sera complétée par des balades urbaines à la découverte d’espaces genrés ou d’îlots de solidarité. Projection, rencontres et workshops, autant d’occasions pour le public de se livrer à une exploration collective et sensible
de l’espace.

Artistes : Justine Blau, Emma Dajska, Julien Discrit, Marco Godinho, Bernard Heidsieck, Joséphine Kaeppelin, Charles Lopez, Yoko Ono, Nipan Oranniwesna, Cornelia Parker, Kirsten Pieroth, Elodie Pong, David Renaud, Angels Ribé, Franck Scurti, Katrin Ströbel, Mona Vatamanu et Florin Tudor

Découvrez l'exposition Zones Sensibles au Frac Lorraine sur Vimeo.

Share
 CALENDRIER
 

  JUIN 2016  

L M M J V S D
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
 NEWS
 

Exposition / 06 Juillet – 21 octobre, au Frac /Martin Beck. Dans un second temps

 

Événement / Samedi 21 Juillet de 11h à 01h30 au Frac, gratuit / Last Night Vidéo de Martin Beck. Embarquez pour un voyage acoustique de 13h30 !

 

Festival Constellations / jusqu’au 15 sept, les jeudis, vendredis et samedis, au Frac, gratuit / Last Night Rendez-vous à la tombée de la nuit !

 

La collection en région / Jusqu’au 15 sept, ACB scène nationale, Bar-le-Duc / Sous le nuage œuvre de Yona Friedman.

 

La collection en région / Jusqu’au 16 sept, La Première Rue, Briey / Hors les murs

 

La collection en région / Jusqu’au 16 nov, Région Grand Est / Trésors communs Une expo itinérante pour le Musée Mobile-MuMo2 imaginée par les 3 Frac du Grand Est