FR EN

EXHIBITION

17 MAR - 04 JUN 2017
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

The Shyness of the Crowns

Curator: Beatriz Alonso, laureate of the Award 2016 for Young Curators MARCO/Frac Lorraine/SFKM
Opening: March 16, 7–9pm, at 7.30 “484 Pulsations”, performance of Marta Fernández Calvo

images/manifestation/LaTimiditeDesCimes-presseH-web.jpg
Timidite-canopée Tdc-L. Almarcegui Tdc-H. Almeida Tdc- J. Deller Tdc-R. Ponce de Leon
 

« La timidité des cimes » – phénomène botanique dans la canopée

Outbursts of solidarity, spontaneous mobilizations, and virtual micro-communities springing to life: now is the time to rethink the collective. Beatriz Alonso, the winner of the 2016 MARCO/49 Nord 6 Est/SFKM Award reminds us about the urgent need to reinvent oneself, to collectively imagine alternative forms of ‘living together’. Starting with ‘crown shyness’— a phenomenon observed in tree canopies— the Spanish curator uses this group exhibition to suggest artistic pathways leading to new participatory scenarios. Let’s enrich each other by respecting others and their differences.

Trees come together in the canopy to protect the ecosystem. They maintain common harmony even while preserving their individuality thanks to ‘crown shyness’. Transposed into our present societies, these interstices represent a space full of potential. This exhibition draws inspiration from this natural intelligence, as well as its limitations, to envision new modes of cohabitation. Beatriz Alonso invites us to explore alterity and reflect together on a society where everyone would have their place… without ever denying conflict, instability, or fragility. Participatory performances (Jiří Kovanda, Amalia Pica, Marta Fernández Calvo), exchange of popular lore (Lara Almarcegui, Jeremy Deller), invisible resistance (Cecilia Vicuña, Kader Attia), encounters with communities (Alex Reynolds, Dora García), shared intimate moments (Rita Ponce de León, Helena Almeida)… are a boarding call to a journey of otherness. A poetic and eminently intuitive approach to nature.

By participating in workshops, meetings, experiments, and other «round-the-world tables», you too are part in the collective. Get involved with 49 Nord 6 Est and help create a new future!

-
Coproduction: 49 Nord 6 Est, MARCO Museo de Arte Contemporánea de Vigo et SFKM-Sogn og Fjordane Kunstmuseum.

Tour:
MARCO, Vigo (ES) : June 17 – January 18
SFKM, Førde (NO) : February – June 18

-

Beatriz Alonso (Madrid, 1981) is an independent curator and researcher based in Madrid. Upcoming projects include a cycle of specific proposals at Casa Museo Lope de Vega, Museo Casa Natal de Cervantes, Centro de interpretación de Nuevo Baztán and Museo Picasso Colección Eugenio Arias (Madrid). She has curated projects of different nature at independent and institutional spaces: Salón, CA2M, Sala de Arte Joven, La Casa Encendida (Madrid), MACBA (Barcelona), La Regenta (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria). She has been curator in residence at Lugar a dudas (Cali, CO), and researcher at Centre Pompidou and Musée du Louvre (Paris, FR).

 

A word from the curator

The Shyness of the Crowns
Is it feasible to promote new forms of living together beyond individualism and global competition, even if this objective seems almost unattainable? Are we capable of establishing links based on compromise, mutual commitment and cooperation without necessarily relinquishing our differences? What practical implementation, theoretical and symbolic positioning may we imagine in the midst of the current socio-political context governed as it by antagonism and division?

The shyness of the crowns is a botanical phenomenon in which trees define the limit of their growth, thereby allowing their harmonious coexistence in the canopy. Among the large body of research conducted on such awareness in trees, our point of departure is a study focused on their internal communication system. Through the exchange of chemical signals, they guard against the occurrence of diseases, of environmental stress, or simply delimit their own breathing space in harmony with other trees. These infrastructures within the vegetation create ‘shyness gaps’ which allow the trees to agree, for instance, on letting the light through, while preventing the intrusion of elements that are harmful to group living: such channel-like gaps might be construed in this context as spaces of possibility.

The poetical observation of this phenomenon challenges some of the modern views according to which nature is hegemonic and the fittest prevails in the fight for survival. To bring it into the human domain, this collective intelligence, this concern for the common good, could be put into perspective with our contemporaneous existence and remind us of the urgent need to take action — as members of a society — with a view to creating an ecosystem in which relationships, encounters and exchanges can always emerge from synergies. In doing so, it challenges the justification of wild competition within our current socio-economic framework.

Bearing in mind the potential of such metaphor, this exhibition engages with artistic practices that promote or make visible new scenarios devoted to living together and learning from one another while still accepting our otherness and our differences. To review the concept of community, through works of art that contribute to a broader understanding of what it entails (yet without denying the existence of conflict, instability or fragility). To set out on a quest for new horizons, building on our complexities, contradictions and weaknesses to live side by side and produce more subtle and flexible bonds with others in order to become stronger together. To this end, the exhibition highlights a stronger sense of connection with nature, coupled with more intuitive and poetic learning methodologies.

The works presented include, among others, actions which invite the public to participate both in and outside of 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine, videos showing daily forms of sharing in existing communities and photographs that evidence the exchange of popular knowledge as well as relationships concerning and directly with nature. The whole forms a ‘social sculpture’, which may remind us of the feeling of solidarity that can be found during grassroots sit-ins and marches, where communication with others goes beyond words and finds its fullest expression in the union of bodies. We now face the challenge of dreaming and building, in a joint effort, genuine spaces of critique, desire and transformation, while taking into account not only what brings us together but also what separates us. Why not start from a radical imaginary, or even a tale, if it provides a means to our end?

-

Share
 CALENDAR
 

  MARCH 2017  

M T W T F S S
27 28 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
 NEWS
 

Exhibition / March 17 – June 04, 17 /The Crown Shyness Curator: Beatriz Alonso.

 

Spécial Kids / Dim 30 avril à 15h, au Frac, gratuit/ L’atelier du dimanche à partir de 6 ans

 

Performance / Saturday 06 May, City of Metz / Asamble, Amalia Pica Part of Festival Passages. Collection Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York.

 

Performance / Monday 08 May, 3pm, Place de la République, Metz / 100 steps not nearly, Taoufiq Izeddiou With the Woippy concert orchestra and about fifty participants. Part of the Passages Festival

 

Exhibition / 15 Dec – 22 may, La Grande Place, Musée du Cristal, Saint-Louis-lès-Bitche / Over the Rainbow with the Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, Paris.

FR EN

EXHIBITION

17 MAR - 04 JUI 2017
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

La timidité des cimes

Commissaire : Beatriz Alonso, Prix 2016 pour les jeunes commissaires MARCO/49 NORD 6 EST/SFKM
Jeudi 16 mars : à 19h vernissage en présence de la commissaire et des artistes & à 19h30 performance “484 Pulsations” de Marta Fernández Calvo

images/manifestation/LaTimiditeDesCimes-presseH-web.jpg
Timidite-canopée Tdc-L. Almarcegui Tdc-H. Almeida Tdc- J. Deller Tdc-R. Ponce de Leon
 

« La timidité des cimes » – phénomène botanique dans la canopée

Élans de solidarité, mobilisations spontanées, créations de micro-communautés virtuelles, l’heure est au collectif ! Beatriz Alonso, lauréate 2016 du Prix MARCO / 49 Nord 6 Est / SFKM nous rappelle l’urgence de se ré-inventer, de penser à des formes alternatives du « vivre ensemble ». À partir de « La timidité des cimes » – phénomène botanique dans la canopée -, la jeune commissaire espagnole livre avec cette exposition collective des pistes artistiques ouvrant à de nouveaux scénarios participatifs. S’enrichir mutuellement dans le respect de l’autre et de ses différences !

Les arbres, dans la canopée, rassemblent leurs cimes pour protége leur écosystème. Ils maintiennent ainsi une harmonie commune tout en préservant leurs individualités grâce aux « fentes de timidité ». Transposés dans nos sociétés modernes ces interstices représentent l’espace de tous les possibles. Cette exposition s’inspire de cette intelligence naturelle, et de ses limites, pour donner à imaginer d’autres modes de cohabitation. Beatriz Alonso nous invite à questionner l’altérité, à réfléchir ensemble à une société où chacun trouverait sa place… sans jamais nier le conflit, l’instabilité ou même l’utopie ! Performances participatives (Jiří Kovanda, Amalia Pica, Marta Fernández Calvo), échanges de savoirs populaires (Lara Almarcegui & Jeremy Deller), résistances invisibles (Kader Attia, Cecilia Vicuña), rencontres de communautés atypiques (Alex Reynolds, Dora García), intimités partagées (Rita Ponce de León, Helena Almeida)… embarquement immédiat pour une traversée de l’autre. Une proposition tout en poésie et éminemment humaniste !

Vous aussi prenez part au collectif en participant à nos workshops, rencontres, expérimentations et autres tables monde. Engagez-vous avec le 49 Nord 6 Est pour créer un futur de tous les possibles !

-
Coproduction: 49 Nord 6 Est, MARCO Museo de Arte Contemporánea de Vigo et SFKM-Sogn og Fjordane Kunstmuseum.

Itinérance :
MARCO, Vigo (ES) : Juin 17 – Janvier 2018
SFKM, Førde (NO) : Février – Juin 18
-

Beatriz Alonso (Madrid, 1981) est commissaire indépendante et chercheuse basée à Madrid. Ces prochains projets reposent sur un cycle de propositions spécifiques développées dans différents musées et centres d’art en Espagne : Casa Museo Lope de Vega, Museo Casa Natal de Cervantes, Centro de interpretación de Nuevo Baztán and Museo Picasso Colección Eugenio Arias (Madrid). Elle a assuré le commissariat de projets de différentes natures pour des lieux indépendants ou des institutions culturelles : Salón, CA2M, Sala de Arte Joven, La Casa Encendida (Madrid), MACBA (Barcelona), La Regenta (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria). Elle a également été commissaire en résidence à : Lugar a dudas (Cali, CO), et chercheuse pour le Centre Pompidou et le Musée du Louvre (Paris, FR).

 

Note d’intention de la commissaire

La timidité des cimes
Est-il possible de promouvoir de nouvelles formes de vivre ensemble au-delà de l’individualisme et de la compétition globale, quand bien même cet objectif nous semble presque impossible à atteindre ? Sommes-nous capables d’établir des liens basés sur le compromis, l’engagement mutuel et la coopération, sans pour autant renoncer à nos différences ? Quelles mises en œuvres pratiques, positionnements théoriques et symboliques peut-on imaginer au milieu d’un contexte sociopolitique régi par la rivalité et la division ?

La timidité des cimes est un phénomène botanique au cours duquel chaque arbre définit la limite de sa croissance, permettant ainsi leur coexistence harmonieuse dans la canopée. Parmi les nombreuses études menées sur cette conscience des arbres, nous prenons ici comme point de départ celle qui s’attache à leur système de communication interne. Grâce à l’échange de signaux chimiques, ils se préviennent de la présence de maladies, du stress environnemental, ou tout simplement délimitent l’espace vital de chacun dans le respect des autres. Ces infrastructures végétales provoquent des « fentes de timidité » qui leur permettent par exemple de s’accorder pour laisser passer la lumière mais en empêchant l’intrusion d’éléments nocifs à la vie du groupe : rainures, en somme, qui sont interprétées, ici, comme des espaces de possibilité.

L’observation poétique de ce phénomène remet en question certaines lectures modernes d’une nature hégémonique, où prévaudrait la lutte pour la survie du plus fort. Par transposition, cette intelligence collective, ce soin pour le bien commun, peut être mis en perspective avec notre contemporanéité et rappeler l’urgence de réagir en tant que membres d’une société à la création d’un écosystème dans lequel les relations, rencontres et échanges puissent toujours découler de synergies. Ainsi est mise en doute la justification d’une compétition sauvage au sein de notre cadre socioéconomique actuel.

En partant du potentiel de cette métaphore, cette exposition s’intéresse à des pratiques artistiques qui promeuvent ou rendent visibles de nouveaux scénarios pour vivre ensemble et apprendre les uns des autres dans l’altérité et la différence. Il s’agit d’élargir ou d’appréhender autrement le concept de communauté au travers d’œuvres qui contribuent à une compréhension plus vaste de celui-ci (sans pour autant nier l’existence des conflits, de l’instabilité ou de la fragilité). Partir à la recherche de nouveaux possibles, s’appuyer sur nos complexités, contradictions et faiblesses pour nous permettre de cohabiter et de générer des liens plus subtils et flexibles face aux autres afin de devenir plus forts ensemble. Pour cela, un rapprochement avec la nature est proposé alors que sont parallèlement mises en valeur des méthodologies d’apprentissage plus intuitives et poétiques.

Les pièces proposées comprennent, entre autres, des actions qui appellent à la participation des publics dans et hors les murs du 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine, des vidéos qui présentent des formes de partage quotidien au cœur de communautés existantes, ou des photographies qui témoignent de l’échange de connaissances populaires et de relations autour de, et avec la nature. L’ensemble forme une « sculpture sociale » qui peut nous rappeler ce sentiment émergeant au cours des mobilisations et occupations citoyennes, là où la communication avec les autres dépasse les mots et prend sa force dans l’union des corps. Nous affrontons, maintenant, le défi de rêver et de construire collectivement de vrais espaces de critique, de désir et de transformation en prenant en compte non seulement ce qui nous rapproche mais aussi ce qui nous dissocie. Pourquoi ne pas partir d’un imaginaire radical, voire même d’un conte, si celui-ci nous permet de parvenir à nos fins ?

-

Share
 CALENDRIER
 

  MARS 2017  

L M M J V S D
27 28 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
 NEWS
 

Exhibition / 17 Mars – 04 Juin 17 /La timidité des cimes Commissaire : Beatriz Alonso.

 

Evénement / Sam 25 & Dim 26 Mars de 14h à 19h au Frac, gratuit / Hélène Bleys A l’occasion de “Parcours d’artistes”, découvrez le travail de cette jeune artiste nancéienne !

 

Evénement / Mercredi 29 Mars de 18h à 22h au Frac, gratuit / Nuit étudiante Ouverture exceptionnelle des espaces d’expo jusqu’à 22h

 

Rencontre épineuse / Mercredi 29 mars de 14h à 16h, Jardin botanique, Metz, gratuit / Allons voir si la rose…

 

Exposition / Jusqu’au 22 mai, La Grande Place, Musée du Cristal, Saint-Louis-lès-Bitche / Over the Rainbow En partenariat avec la Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, Paris.