FR EN

EXHIBITION

09 SEP - 22 JAN 2023
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

Serious Moonlight

09.09.22 – 21.01.23

images/manifestation/saarpicard.jpg
bs1 bs2 bs3 bs4
 

Installation view: Betye Saar: Serious Moonlight at the Institute of Contemporary Art, Miami, Oct 28, 2021 – Apr 17, 2022. Photo: Zachary Balber. Gliding into Midnight, 2019, Tia Collection, Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA Courtesy de l’artiste et Roberts Projects, Los Angeles

Serious Moonlight

‘Betye Saar: Serious Moonlight’ brings together a selection of immersive installations by the American artist Betye Saar (b. 1926, Los Angeles). Rarely exhibited until now, they reveal how the artist seizes the evocative power of found objects. Highlighting Black identity and intersectional feminism within the broader context of west coast history and experience in the United States, these installations offer visitors radical new worlds inspired by ritual and myth.

Rich with narrative, Saar’s installations are informed by the artist’s travels to Haiti, Mexico, and Nigeria during the 1970s. This exhibition highlights works that meditate on spirituality, referring to elements of voodoo culture, astrology, or palmistry. The installations in ‘Betye Saar: Serious Moonlight’ evoke links between magic and technology, allude to the process of mourning, or the passage between life and death. While Saar’s intimately scaled assemblages of the 1960s and 1970s are icons of Black feminist art, audiences have rarely had the opportunity to encounter the artist’s monumental installations — many of which have only been recently rediscovered and are exhibited here for the first time in decades. The history of the African diaspora has inspired Saar to create a highly influential œuvre of dense and vibrant forms throughout a career that has spanned decades.

With Serious Moonlight, 49 Nord 6 Est continues its exploration of diasporic visual languages in order to question hegemonic Western canons and the narratives that underpin them.

—-

The exhibition is organized by the Institute of Contemporary Art, Miami (ICA Miami) in collaboration with 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine, Metz and the Kunstmuseum Luzern. Curator: Stephanie Seidel, Curator, ICA Miami.
A monographic catalogue is published by ICA Miami and DelMonico Books • D.A.P., with contributions by Sampada Aranke, Edwidge Danticat, Leah Ollman, and Stephanie Seidel.
The exhibition at 49 Nord 6 Est is supported by Étant donnés — a programme of the Villa Albertine, FACE Foundation and the Ford Foundation, in partnership with the French Embassy of the United States, the French Ministry of Culture, the French Institute, the Helen Frankenthaler Foundation, Chanel and the ADAGP.

Share
 CALENDAR
 

  SEPTEMBER 2022  

M T W T F S S
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
 NEWS
 

Atelier La guerre des napperons samedi 10 décembre à 14h30

 

Brave book club mardi 13 décembre à 18h30

 

Le Frac est ouvert du mardi au vendredi de 14h à 18h et les samedis et dimanches de 11h à 19h. Samedi 24 décembre de 11h à 17h. Fermeture les lundis, le 25 décembre et 1er janvier

FR EN

EXHIBITION

09 SEP - 22 JAN 2023
49 NORD 6 EST - FRAC LORRAINE - METZ (57)

Betye Saar.
Serious Moonlight

Du 09 septembre 2022 au 22 janvier 2023

images/manifestation/saarpicard.jpg
bs1 bs2 bs3 bs4
 

Installation view: Betye Saar: Serious Moonlight at the Institute of Contemporary Art, Miami, Oct 28, 2021 – Apr 17, 2022. Photo: Zachary Balber. Gliding into Midnight, 2019, Tia Collection, Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA Courtesy de l’artiste et Roberts Projects, Los Angeles

Serious Moonlight

L’exposition Serious Moonlight rassemble une sélection d’installations immersives de l’artiste américaine Betye Saar (née en 1926 à Los Angeles). Rarement exposées jusqu’à présent, elles font apparaître la manière dont l’artiste s’empare de la force évocatrice d’objets trouvés. Invoquant l’identité Noire et le féminisme intersectionnel dans le contexte de la côte ouest américaine, ses installations révèlent aux visiteurs des univers singuliers, inspirés de rituels et de pratiques spirituelles.

Riches en récits, les installations de Betye Saar sont inspirées par ses voyages (Haïti, Mexique, Nigéria) au cours des années 1970.

L’exposition met en lumière des œuvres qui convoquent la spiritualité, faisant référence à des éléments de la culture vaudou, à l’astrologie ou la chiromancie. Elle souligne aussi les liens entre magie et technologie ou invoque le deuil et les étapes de la vie, comme le passage entre la vie et la mort. Si les assemblages à échelle intime produits par Betye Saar dans les années 1960 et 1970 sont aujourd’hui considérés comme emblématiques de l’art féministe Noir, il ne peut en être dit autant de ses installations monumentales. Celles-ci sont aujourd’hui redécouvertes et exposées pour la première fois depuis longtemps. L’histoire de la diaspora africaine inspire Betye Saar pour créer des formes denses et vibrantes qui ont, dès leur création, joué un rôle influent.

Avec Serious Moonlight le 49 Nord 6 Est poursuit son exploration des langages visuels nourris par les diasporas, interrogeant les canons occidentaux et les histoires qui les portent.

—-
L’exposition est organisée par l’Institute of Contemporary Art, Miami, en collaboration avec le 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine, Metz et le Kunstmuseum Luzern.
Commissariat : Stephanie Seidel, ICA Miami.

Au 49 Nord 6 Est l’exposition reçoit le soutien de Étant donnés, programme de la Villa Albertine et FACE Fondation et la Ford Fondation, en partenariat avec l’Ambassade française des États-Unis, le ministère de la Culture, l’Institut Français, La Fondation Helen Frankenthaler, Chanel et l’ADAGP.

Un catalogue monographique est publié à l’occasion, avec des contributions de Sampada Aranke, Edwidge Danticat, Leah Ollman et Stephanie Seidel.

En partenariat avec France 3 Lorraine

Share
 CALENDRIER
 

  SEPTEMBRE 2022  

L M M J V S D
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
 NEWS
 

Visite à petits pas dimanche 20 novembre à 15h et Visite-atelier Sequins, Lune et vaudou samedi 26 novembre à 15h

 

Visite subjective mercredi 30 novembre à 18h30

 

Visite interprétée en LSF dimanche 4 décembre à 15h

 

Atelier La guerre des napperons samedi 10 décembre à 14h30